Big Buddha Restaurant

buddhas belly titleBefore I came to Korea, I assumed that Asian foods would be the easiest to find here, what with being in Asia. However, I found a lot of the key ingredients to a lot of Thai meals such as lemongrass, limes, galangal and coriander are generally non existent in most supermarkets. I had been craving Thai food and had heard about Big Buddha in Itaewon. It certainly did not disappoint.

frozen cocktails menu

Like most foreign restaurants, I expected the prices to be at the higher end. Apart from the drinks menu, all of the dishes were very reasonably priced and the dishes we had were packed full of flavour. Although the drinks were expensive, they were delicious.

cranberry mojito

I was a little disappointed that my Phad Thai didn’t come with the usual wedge of lime, but it was still really tasty. I tried the Tom Kha Gai soup and it tasted exactly how I remembered it and didn’t appear to be missing any key ingredients. For those of you who are fans of this coconut soup, I shall be posting the recipe here soon.

phad thai spicy beef dish

ambience

Getting There:

Subway to Noksapyong exit 3. Cross over the road and walk towards the main strip of Itaewon. There is a sharp left up a steepish hill and it’s just at the top of it. (Less than 1 min from the turn).

map

Leave a comment